Monday, July 21, 2014

Recount ordered for Marion Township Advisory Board election (1922)

As mentioned in Hendricks County Circuit Court Civil Order Book Volume 72 (September 1922 - September 1923), in November 1922, Asa R. Kurtz, Verne Wolfe and Alvin R. Zimpelman, the Republican slate of candidates, filed a petition for a recount of the ballots for the November 7 election of the Marion Township Advisory Board, in which the Democratic slate - Francis M. Sheets, Everett W. Hardwick and Paul K. Christie - had been declared the winner.

James L. Clark, George W. Brill and Albert C. Parker were appointed by the court to perform the recount. They found there were 7 paper ballots that had not been counted and they added them to the totals from the voting machine, with the following updated tallies:

Asa R. Kurtz - 274 votes
Verne Wolfe - 260 votes
Arthur R. Zimpelman - 271 votes

Francis M. Sheets - 267 votes
Everett W. Hardwick - 267 votes
Paul K. Christie - 285 votes

No comments:

Post a Comment