Saturday, June 1, 2013

Hendricks County Formed By Indiana Legislature (1824)

Source: The revised laws of Indiana, adopted and enacted by the General Assembly at their eighth session (Corydon: Carpenter and Douglass, 1824)

According to Acts of 1824, Chapter 19 [approved December 20, 1823], effective April 1, 1824, Hendricks County is formed out of part of Wabash County, with these boundaries:
  • Beginning at southeast corner of Section 20 in Township 14 North, Range 2 East
  • Then west, 20 miles to the east line of Putnam County
  • Then north 20 miles with said line, to the northwest corner of Section 18 in Township 17 North, Range 2 West
  • Then east 20 miles to the northwest corner of Marion County
  • Then south 20 miles with said line, back to the beginning.
These county commissioners are appointed:
  • William Templeton of Lawrence County
  • William McCulloch of Monroe County
  • Calvin Fletcher of Marion County
  • Abel Cole of Shelby County
  • John Smiley of Johnson County
The county commissioners are to meet at the house of the late William Ballard on the second Monday in July 1824. They will also hold a special session on the first Monday in May 1824 for the purpose of appointing a county assessor. Within 12 months after selecting a site, they will erect a building for a courthouse.

No comments:

Post a Comment